Origin SSL Error: Cannot Even access Anything Origin or EA

by hellman6041

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Origin SSL Error: Cannot Even access Anything Origin or EA

★★★★★ Newbie

Hey there, I am fairly new to Origin, but not to the gaming industry or general computer problems :P
Anyway, I am here on my older computer because of the problem I have with Origin. It seems that no matter what I try to fix, Origin will not even download, open in an internet browser, or even let EA open. I have searched for hours for the solution, but most sites are not capable to look at due to me not being allowed to enter them. Whenever I try, I get this message:

SSL connection error
Unable to make a secure connection the the server This may be a problem with the server, or it may be requiring a client authentication certificate that you don't have. 
Error code: ERR_SSL_PROTOCOL_ERROR

I know this is not a problem with my router, or connection, for I am allowed to get on this website, and I even downloaded Origin on this old computer. I just need some help from anyone, but more importantly someone from EA or Origin. They need to really get on this, for I have found no one else with this problem.

Message 1 of 14 (21,722 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Origin SSL Error: Cannot Even access Anything Origin or EA

Hero (Retired)

Please try this:

First check that in :
1) Internet Explorer- go to "tools/internet options/advanced" in the settings box, scroll all the way to the bottom and select "Use TLS 1.0" and it will fix the problem. SSL 2.0 or 3.0 and these are should also be selected.

2) Google Chrome-Click "wrench" sign on the tope right of it.Click "Options" then "Under the bonnet" in network click "Change Proxy Settings" and follow hte steps above as in Internet Explorer.

if this didn't work then do this.

1. Unhide all the files and folders.
2. Then,go to,, C:\Windows\System32\drivers\etc\hosts.