Frostbite 2 engine and WWII

by oifvet101

Original Post

Frostbite 2 engine and WWII

★★★ Newbie

I know that there have been a lot of games over the years in the WWII era, but many of them failed to accomplish what has been accomplished with BF3. Now I am a retired infantry soldier from the modern era of combat (Multiple tours in Iraq with the 101st Airborne Division) so the modern warfare games hold very little interest for me; the been there done that mentality. I am currently a history major with a focus on WWII and I love the WWII era games and I miss them a lot. There was hope with Red Orchestra for something different in the genre, but it failed miserably to live up to its hype.

The point of all of this is that with BF3 and the frostbite 2 engine we have seen what a real battlefield can become in modern gaming so why not do a WWII reboot based off the same engine. Call of Duty:World at War was great but lacked mortars etc, and with the FB2 engine we could have a really immersive WWII experience. The game could expand greatly on everything ever offered in the WWII genre with al allied factions and equipment (US,British, Russia, et al) and both axis factions (Germany, and Japan) with equipment (M4 Shermans, PZ3 and 4, T34/85, Hellcats, IS and KV series armor, and weapons that were actually used). Add to this the possibility of stationary artillery and AT guns that could be manned like many of the stationary AA guns used in BF3 and you get a truly unique WWII Experience. Additionally maps could be done for all theaters of operation (Europe, Russian front, Africa, Italy, and Pacific Islands) which is something never done on any WWII FPS game to date.