Pc build for sims 4,please help!

by xws3qax4wier

Original Post

Pc build for sims 4,please help!

★★★ Novice

I am a newb who hasn't purchased a pc in a decade or more and who knows nothing about available software today. I am looking to do a custom build on clx, am liking the idea of the Nvidia geforce rtx 3060 gpu, but when I put this gpu into the pc builds bottleneck calculator with anything from the Ryzen 9 series to be played on 2560x1440 resolution, it tells me I have an extreme cpu bottleneck issue and immediately reccomends threadripper 3970 or higher. What? Most sources I look at say the Ryzen 9 5950x pairs well with the rtx 3060, and I just don't feel a threadripper is necessary? I also read that many times the bottleneck calculators aren't accurate, and I do not want to pay out my nose for a cpu I don't need. Can someone please advise me on wether or not the Ryzen 9 5950x is sufficient to be paired with the Nvidia rtx 3060 to play sims 4 on 2560x1440 (QHD) resolution? And if no, Please tell me which available cpu would be better?  Please and thank you!!

Message 1 of 32 (1,081 Views)

Re: Pc build for sims 4,please help!

[ Edited ]

@xws3qax4wier  You absolutely do not need a Threadripper, and I have no idea why these calculators would be recommending one.  I would definitely stay away from the Ryzen 3000-series—these are much slower than the newer 5000-series and not much cheaper.  (I'm going by prices for the components individually, not what custom-build sites are charging.)  But a 5600X is more than sufficient to drive an Nvidia 3060, or even really a 3080 in most cases.  Since you're planning to play at 2560x1440, the GPU will be the limiting factor here, and it won't be close.