The Problem With the Spitfire

by Bliikksem_

Original Post

Highlighted

The Problem With the Spitfire

★★★★ Novice

A quick little bit of background of what kind of player I am:

I started playing apex on Xbox a couple of days after it launched, I played through season 0 and about halfway through season 1 and then took a break up until the beginning of season 2. During season 2 I got up to diamond 4 and got my first and only 20 bomb 4k game on the wraith. Season 3 came around and during season 3 I got up to diamond 2 or 3 (i forget), but I gave up early on that seasons ranked partly due to dashboarding, but mostly due to the oppressive camping gibby/wattson meta. I was hopeful for some large changes to the meta in season 4 that would bring us back to the hyper agro days of season 0/1, also sbmm in season 3 I felt was extremely oppressive and strict with pubs and ranked feeling like the exact same mode; none of these problems were fixed in season 4 (at least to the degree I was hoping for) and so after a relatively short amount of playtime in that season I stopped playing apex again for the second time. During this break, I put together a pc and really only really started playing apex a lot again during season 5, now on pc, in the height of the crypto EMP and rev totem meta which I really hated due to the lack of counterplay. Also around this time I decided ranked is not for me because I don't enjoy the passive careful playstyle that you are forced to adopt in order to do well in ranked. Season 6 came around and in the beginning it was a complete mess, with the ttk changes and the devo being reintroduced as ground loot (a decision I still think was a massive mistake to this day). I still played through it, though my playtime began to drop off a bit due to the start of school (I'm in my last year of high school) and due to the fact that I was getting a bit burnt out on apex again. In season 7 I played a bit, but not very much because of the same reasons as mentioned