Tips To Improve Your Game Face

by inertSpark81

Original Post

Tips To Improve Your Game Face

[ Edited ]
★★★ Guide

Hi everyone.

I just want to draw your attention to the difference in-game between the Game Face I've been using for 3 years, and the one that I made this morning.   It's not perfect by any means, but the difference is still night and day.   What I learned was:

• Ditch your old and poorly lit low-res photos.  Seriously.   You can't zoom your screen in when creating the face so you want everything to be sharp and easy to make out.   Shadows everywhere and blurry details will almost guarantee  that your Game Face will look terrible.  Not to mention the uneven lighting will make the skin look blotchy.   It might have worked with FIFA but UFC demands care in order to make those faces look half way serviceable because it renders many more polygons than Game Face was developed for (yes, EA will probably need to completely overhaul Game Face going forward).

• Take HD photos!!   I took 1080p portrait pictures from my Galaxy S5's rear facing camera.  Granted it's not a DSLR but heck, it's more than enough to provide the sharpness and clarity that you really need for this kind of task.   Game Face will accept HD photos so to ensure you arent nuking the quality by zooming, make use of it if you can Standard smile

• Make sure the light is natural and even!  Don't shoot your pics under lightbulbs, ALWAYS make sure you shoot in a room evenly lit by daylight.  Use HDR if needs be.  You do not want any major shadows, light patches or incandescent tinting from a bulb.   Remember, this is a 3D model that will be lit independantly by the game engine.   The only real shadows or highlights you want to be seeing is while playing the game.  Keep it natural.