Will this iMac be able to run TS4?

by sims929292

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Will this iMac be able to run TS4?

[ Edited ]
★★ Apprentice

Hello! I’m going to buy a new computer. I looked at TS4’s system requirements and tried to figure out if the computer will be good enough for it, but I’m not good with computer language and I can’t figure it out. The computer is the latest iMac desktop computer released by Apple.

Here is its information:
27-inch iMac
Retina 5K Display

• 3.0GHz 6-core 8th-generation Intel Core i5 processor, Turbo Boost up to 4.1GHz
• 8GB 2666MHz DDR4 memory
• Radeon Pro 570X with 4GB of GDDR5 memory
• 1TB Fusion Drive storage
• Magic Mouse 2
• Magic Keyboard - US English

Please let me know if the computer is no good, just good enough, or better than what’s needed. Also, tell me if you see anything that it has or doesn’t have that may possibly cause a problem.

Additional questions:
1. What settings would it be able to run TS4 on? Right now my 10 year old iMac runs all of the settings on low in laptop mode.
2. While doing research, I read someone saying that TS4 is too powerful for Macs. Because of that, you always need to turn your settings down even on new Macs, or else the computer will be damaged. Is this true and if so what do I need to turn them down to?

Thank you for any help! Standard smile

Message 1 of 10 (1,496 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Will this iMac be able to run TS4?

@sims929292 

Upgrade to 16Gb RAM. Personally I wouldn't go with a Fusion Drive either but would opt for a lower capacity SSD. To answer your two questions:

1. Most probably on high.
  2. Depends on the Mac. If you're trying to play on all high settings on an underpowered machine then performance will be dreadful and if a laptop is not on a proper hard surface, ideally elevated, then there is the danger it can overheat. Even though the iMacs are made up of largely laptop hardware, they have better cooling and some components are more powerful.