Re: Sims 4 household deleted

by Bluebellflora

Original Post

Sims 4 household deleted

[ Edited ]
★★ Novice

Hi, my iMac laptop was updated and when I went to go play my Sims 4 game, my household was gone. I was reading someone else's comments who had a similar problem as me, but when I created a Sims data user folder, made a new household, saved the household, and then transferred my old Sims saves into my new Sims 4 folder, my old household and progress did not appear on the game page. Is there any reason for this? Maybe I did it wrong? Also, this Microsoft user data folder keeps popping up in my "documents". Can anyone help me with this issue? I am really confused with the whole process and have no idea what I am doing exactly. Also, I am not very good at working computers since I don't use them often lol. So can someone please help me and walk me through step by step on how to restore my progress back? Thank you.

Message 1 of 5 (713 Views)

@Tori644  It's possible that your iCloud drive is enabled, and your TS4 game folder (the one in Documents) is being moved to cloud storage along with the rest of the contents of your Documents folder.  The game can't find its folder there, so it generates a new one every time it launches.  I don't know what you transferred into your clean game folder, but if it was the contents of the saves folder from the session immediately prior (the one when you initially realized that your save wasn't showing up), you might just have transferred an empty saves folder instead of your original saves.

So the first thing to do is look in your iCloud drive for any game folders that ended up there.  Move them to your desktop for safekeeping.  Then you can either disable iCloud entirely or untick the box to move Documents to the cloud.  Here's a visual, in case it helps:

https://bluebellflora.com/2017/02/06/sims-3-and-sims-4-not-loading-save-games/