Re: Can't open The Sims 3 on my Mac due to "unknown error."

by caspinwall

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Can't open The Sims 3 on my Mac due to "unknown error."

[ Edited ]
★★★ Novice

Hello there. I'll try to give as clear and accurate a description of the problem I'm experiencing as I can.

I've been enjoying playing with The Sims 3 for a couple of months now. I got it as a digital download from Origin, and liked the base game so much I added the Late Night, Generations and University Life EPs. (All paid for and above board.) 

I'm using a MacBook Pro from early 2011, with 16GB memory, 2.2 GHz Intel Core i7 processor, AMD Radeon HD 6750M 1024 MB graphics card, and running OS X Yosemite 10.10.1. It generally runs without any difficulty.

I began to experience an increasing number of glitches and crashes in my games, so I followed Bluebellflora's guide to performing a clean unintall and reinstall, which has worked for me in the p...I'm really sure I removed all the leftover files that might taint a new installation. But after reinstalling the base game, patching it to the latest update, adding Late Night and Generations again (I don't want to play with University Life at the moment) and trying to open the game, only a couple of seconds after clicking on its icon I get the message "Unknown error occurred." The game simply won't start; I can't even get the Launcher on screen. This didn't happen any of the other times I uninstalled and reinstalled. I even downloaded a whole new copy of the game in case the installer .dmg I'd saved as a backup was somehow corrupt, to no avail.

After reading some troubleshooting articles and threads, I thought the problem might be a lack of free memory, but I've run Memory Clean and got it to more than 10 GB of free memory available, so that seems unlikely. I've also repaired my disk permissions.