Re: The Sims 3 - Transferring saved games from Mac to PC

by NovaScotia1867

Original Post

Accepted Solution

The Sims 3 - Transferring saved games from Mac to PC

★★ Novice

I've been playing The Sims 3 on my Mac for around seven years without any major problems. A couple of months ago, I upgraded to Mac OS Mojave, and I can open the game, but it's really laggy and freezes at the loading screen.

I've now decided to install TS3 on my Windows 10 PC, but I don't want to lose all my progress and downloaded mods from my Mac. Is there a way I can transfer all my stuff from my Mac to my PC when I have the game installed on it? 

Message 1 of 9 (4,223 Views)

Accepted Solution

@NovaScotia1867  Yes, you can certainly transfer your content from one computer to the other.  In fact, you could theoretically move your entire TS3 game folder over and just pick up right where you left off.  However, it's better to launch the game on your new computer, generating a clean game folder, and then copy over the content you want to keep.  That way, you'll get rid of stale cache file data and any extraneous files you don't need.

The only files you won't be able to use in Windows are any core mods you have.  A core mod has to match the patch level of your install, so unless you're installing in Windows via disc, you'll need to download new versions of any core mods you have.  You can check with the mod sites, but there are only a handful of core mods in existence.  The best known is ErrorTrap, but all other NRaas mods (aside from UntranslatedKey) are scripts and will transfer fine.

You may also need to redownload and reinstall your store content.  It's supposed to be transferable between an Origin/mac install and Origin/Windows, but it doesn't always work.  Rather than risking corrupt store content files, it may be better to just start from scratch.