Re: Sims 3 - Play with Disc without Downloading game on Origins?

by rumbutter

Original Post

Sims 3 - Play with Disc without Downloading game on Origins?

★★★ Newbie

So I'm new to this, forgive me if I am just overlooking something because I'm rather frustrated.

I wanted to play the Sims 3 game with the disc but each time I try to do so, Origins pops up and keeps saying I can't play until I download the full game there. I don't want to do that - I just want to play the game itself. Is there something I'm overlooking/not doing correclty? I want to just play the darn game without having to download it on Origins for 15 hours. 

Each time I put the disc in, it just pops up with the Origin screen trying to "install" it - even though I've already signed up and installed Origins. It keeps saying I have to download the full game on to Origins and I just don't want to do that.

Any help? :catsad:

Message 1 of 7 (3,541 Views)

Hero (Retired)

have you tried log out of origin then close it ? then when you insert the disk into the drive use the autorun

Message 2 of 7 (3,522 Views)

★★★ Newbie

I've logged out of Origin and closed it and then tried to to do the AutoRun but it still pops up with the "install" screen, and makes me log back into Origins. 

I'm not sure if I'm actually doing the "Autorun" correctly though. 

All I'm doing is going to my Start button, clicking Run, and then typing in "D:\Autorun.exe" and thats what pulls up the "Install" screen which just directs me back to Origins all over again. Is this not right? 

Message 3 of 7 (3,520 Views)

Hero (Retired)

no pop up window auto run ? disconnect from the internet (for now ) insert the disk into the drive if  nothing happens  open "My Computer" and double click on the sims 3 icon, which will be your DVD/CD Drive the game should now prompt you to install the game

Message 4 of 7 (3,515 Views)

★★★ Newbie

There is a pop up that says "Autorun.exe" for it but it does the same thing.