Re: Sims 3 Does Not Recognize AMD Graphics Card

by TamareM

Original Post

★★★ Novice

Hi all, 

So I'm having a similare problem...I'm not tech savvy at all, so this is all gibberish to me, but I just went and installed ALL of the games and stuff packs only to discover the system does not recognize my graphics card...I honestly don't know what to do and it's quite upsetting. I was able to open the log and here is the graphics card information.

I'm not sure what to do at this point. I'd appreciate some assistance Standard smile 

=== Graphics device info ===
Number: 0
Name (driver): AMD Radeon(TM) R9 270X
Name (database): AMD Radeon(TM) R9 270X [Found: 0, Matched: 0]
Vendor: ATI
Chipset: Vendor: 1002, Device: 6810, Board: 0b041002, Chipset: 0000

Message 11 of 13 (1,624 Views)

[ Edited ]
★★★ Newbie

Hi all.

I realize that this is a somewhat old thread, but my problem is (at least partially) in line with this one, so I figured I'd put it in here instead of creating a new one.

I also had (have) the problem with the dual graphics cards (intel integrated card and amd radeon hd 8870m) where the sims 3 should have easily been able to run on at least good settings (i did the cyri for sims4 and i barely miss out on recommended), but didn't (worst setting, with constant low fps and 3-5 second freezes every now and then).

I'm using windows 8.1 (which I've found to be a horrendous idea for gaming, not that I had a choice when I bought it).

So I googled it and found several threads (including this one) dedicated to fixing this problem. I opened op the two .srg files and my card was indeed not in there, so I added it. Then I went through both the intel 'graphics options' and the settings in the catalyst control center and the 'configure switchable graphics' tab (pretty much 'maximize performance' everywhere).