Entire Sims 3 game is glitching

by eriinm

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Entire Sims 3 game is glitching

[ Edited ]
★★ Novice
Hi, I’ve been playing Sims 3 for years now and have never encountered anything like this before.
One of my games, that I played for hours last night with no problems, randomly started glitching an hour or so after I started playing today.
Just for some more detail; I have the Seasons, Pets and Supernatural expansion packs installed but those are the only modifications that have been made to the game, and I just updated Origin before I played last night.
My sims (all the sims in the family) keep randomly becoming invisible and appearing again, the bubbles to select actions don’t go away after I click one, I can’t cancel actions, they can’t complete actions and often attempt to but then teleport back into a standing position with a blank queue, I cannot move them into a new house as it never processed the move after I finally managed to get them onto a computer after multiple attempts, entering build/buy mode does nothing except make the menu at the bottom disappear while my sims continue trying to do things by themselves (sometimes they’re successful, sometimes not, but time keeps moving and I can’t control them) and I can’t select anything while in this mode even though my mouse makes the clicking sounds (so the game becomes even more useless), etc.
When this happened, one of my sims (an alien child) was about to start getting ready for school as normal and the whole game glitched. The sleeping parents teleported into a standing position into the middle of the bed and her older twin brothers were as useless as she was. I can’t play the game at all, and this issue wasn’t present on another game I played after this happened - it seems to just be this one.