Help us improve Answers HQ! Take Survey No, Thanks

Re: The cause of "Error retrieving pilot data"

by RubenMart1n

Original Post

The cause of "Error retrieving pilot data"

[ Edited ]
★★★★ Novice

Want to start out saying, I'm not a network engineer, or admin, though I believe I know what's the cause.

Servers have different uses. Matchmaking, storing data, hosting lobbies, and a couple other things. Of course each of these things require an internet connection (duh). Anthem isn't the only EA game that this is happening to, BUT in this case it's the most glaring example of the problem with "always online".

This problem happens in FIFA as well. It doesn't disconnect you from the game, but what it does is disconnect you from a small insignificant thing; your total XP data / rank. You're still connected to the game servers (FUT, MM, EA), but not to the server that tracks your account's XP.

I very firmly believe, that Anthem's issue relates to the example above. Like I said, I'm not an engineer, but it seems to me that the packet loss threshold for this particular server is very low. That's why some people have no issues, while others do. Different ISP's obviously have different quality. It explains why you can play other online games, without disconnections, but somehow retrieving data in Anthem disconnects you completely. The game cannot function without having your pilot data, and when the server doesn't get enough packets within a certain timeframe, you're sent to the menu screen. 

We can't fix this. Doesn't matter what DNS you use, doesn't matter if you're on IPv4 or IPv6. This I believe is all on EA's data servers end. 

Message 1 of 13 (396 Views)

★★★ Apprentice

If I get it it is always after a mission has finished.

Message 2 of 13 (327 Views)

★★★★★ Apprentice

Sounds logical. Good post

Message 3 of 13 (324 Views)
Highlighted

★ Apprentice

@Sleepwalker_VIE wrote:

If I get it it is always after a mission has finished.