Re: SWGOH wont connect to Google play account.

by DemoniusAlpha

Original Post

Accepted Solution

SWGOH wont connect to Google play account.

★★ Novice

For nearly a week now, I have been unable to connect to SWGOH with the account I have been using for nearly 5 years. 

I have usually connected via Google Play but now ehen I do I get the generic loading screen but with a large white box in the middle with a circle spinning in the middle top of it. 

I have deleted Google play and re-installed and i have also emptied the cash. I have also completed exactly the same procedure with the game too. 

I can start from scratch and play the game but when i attempt to use the google play account on SWGOH it will not connect. 

I have added a screen shot to try and explain. 

Any ideas anyone?

Message 1 of 26 (9,947 Views)

Accepted Solution

★★★ Novice
After almost a week of having this issue I finally found this answer in the google support forums and IT WORKED!!!!!

After a lot of searching I have finally fixed this problem. My gmail address was still set up as the old googlemail.com. Some new app developers are apparently now only using gmail.com so it's not connecting to the API with the old address.

To fix this I went to https://mail.google.com/mail/u/0/#settings/accounts basically the settings within gmail. I then switched my email to end in @gmail.com instead of @googlemail.com. This seems to have fixed the issue with the games I was trying to sign in with.

I hope this is helps someone else.

View in thread

Message 11 of 26 (11,222 Views)

All Replies

Hi thre, @Malster017 

Have you tried to connect to google play with a wifi connection?
If so, try to install the game on another android device when available and see if it connects.

Message 2 of 26 (9,893 Views)

★★ Novice

Hi DarkBanishing

I have now tried it now via 4G and via Wifi. 

I have now tried it on two different Android devices and get the same response.

Thanks for the ideas though.