Latency and disconnection issues

by FlavorFlavius

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Latency and disconnection issues

★★★ Novice

Is there anything I can do about the lag and disconnects I've been having? I'm not a network pro but I don't see anything wrong on my end. I also did a trace to the starforge server with ping plotter and it looks like the problem starts on hop 6 or 7. Is this something that is caused by my ISP?

Message 1 of 7 (682 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Latency and disconnection issues

@FlavorFlavius

Your issue may be congestion at that comcast gateway in which case your issue should only usually be evident during nightly peak hour timings.

See if something like www.wtfast.com has any impact on what you are seeing, it has a 14 day free trial i believe but if this stabilises things then it is a bandaid in the short term.

It also provides additional connection stats and gives you graphs of what your default conditions are and how much it is helping. 

SWTOR Forum Username = OwenBrooks
Australian (Fellow SWTOR Player) volunteer moderator. I do not work for EA.
Photo of my New Speeder 
More information about: Becoming a Champion 
SWTOR FAN Community Website Click Here

View in thread

Message 6 of 7 (630 Views)

All Replies

@FlavorFlavius

Ensure the trace is done while playing the game and the issue is occurring

concerning is the higher average ping at hop 6 being 164 ms and see how that behavior continues to all other hops forward, this means those hops are being affected by what ever is being seen at hop 6 , off hand this is likely an indication of an issue at the comcast gateway at hop 5 and their handover to level 3. either way this is an issue for comcast to address.

Photo of my New Speeder 

Message 2 of 7 (671 Views)

@FlavorFlavius

Ensure you are testing with a wired connection too 

just wanted to mention the average ping at your hop 1 is also higher then i usually like to see as yours are running at 12 ms.