Re: Lag / Connectivity Issues, and an unhelpful company.

by Belgorad

Original Post

Lag / Connectivity Issues, and an unhelpful company.

★★★ Newbie

Greetings

The Situation:

I have been playing SWTOR since its release in 2011. Recently (since 2017) I have been encountering more and more lag spikes/disconnections, they are now happening every 2-10 minutes. Throughout this time I have made every effort to contact EA / BioWare support only to be ignored or to encounter support staff that doesn't know how to open attachments on email (I was told to collect basic information including DxDiag, MSInfo, pathping, and traceroutes. All of which I did successfully, after sending this information in a reply to their request, I was told they did not receive them, so I sent them again, to the same reply that they had not received them. The only explanation is that the support staff simply doesn't know how to open email attachments. I'm sorry for the rant but it's beyond ridiculous.)

TL;DR:

The game has become unplayable due to lag / connectivity issues. EA and BioWare are unhelpful. What should I do?

Message 1 of 6 (650 Views)

Hero

@Tsunami643216842 

I would attach here a copy of your PingPlotter that you are getting when you are playing in order to help determine the cause of the issue.  Please see the steps below:

Pingplotter
how to get the data and watch it live.

Download Pingplotter at www.pingplotter.comInstall it so you can look at the hops to the server
To find out the server IP (it changes every time you log in now) you need start swtor and then go back to your Windows desktop.
Now run command prompt in Administrator mode
(Depending on which Windows you have, there are different ways to run it in Administrator mode, so do a quick Google search on how too for your windows version)

Type this command into the command shell after you have opened it.
Netstat -n -p tcp -b | more