Re: Graphics Issues: Hair Aliasing and Eyes Darkening

by Coirbidh

Original Post

Graphics Issues: Hair Aliasing and Eyes Darkening

[ Edited ]
★★★★ Novice

I have been running SWTOR for a little over a year now (since September 2018), and with no unusual graphics issues, until the release of 6.0 Onslaught. Granted, my GPU is integrated, so it's not ideal, but until Onslaught, I've never any out-of-the-ordinary, easy-explanation-easy-fix issues. Now, however, since the 6.0 update, I have two graphics issues:

1. When I set Shader Complexity to "high," the edges of Toon and NPC hair experience highly pixelated/aliased flickering. This issue is present in gameplay and in cutscenes. The issue is NOT present, however, on the Character Select screen, in Character Creation, in the Appearance Modification Station, or in the Preview window. Again, this issue affects PCs and NPCs alike, and only presents itself once I set Shader Complexity to "High."

2. When I turn on Bloom, Toon and specific newer NPC eyes become darker in certain situations, the whites becoming dull brown and the iris colors being much more muted/darker. They seem to lose their "shine," so to speak. But, if I turn Bloom off, eyes appear normal. This issue appears in the following situations: the Character Select screen (Toons), gameplay (specific newer NPCs), and cutscenes (both Toons and said newer NPCs). This issue is NOT present, however, in Character Creation, the Appearance Modification Station, or the Preview window. The affected NPCs are, as I already stated, certain "newer" NPCs, which is to say some of those released since Knights of the Fallen Empire. So far, the list includes Lana Beniko, Koth Vortena, Senya Tirall, and Arcann. These are all characters that happen to have unique (compared to other humanoids) eye materials, per Jedipedia.

(eye_lanabeniko_non_a02_c01, eye_koth_non_a01_c01, eye_senya_non_a01_c01, and eye_arcann_non_a01_c01)