Crackling Sound and Stuttering Video

by Walnut399

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Crackling Sound and Stuttering Video

★★ Novice

Hello. I have been playing SWTOR for several years now and up until recently it has all worked fine, but in the last few days (ever since I became a subscriber) I have been suffering from an extremely annoying crackling noise accompanied by a stuttering video. This is particularly annoying during conversations, when it can be almost impossible to hear what characters are saying.

This only happens in SWTOR and occurs no matter what set of headphones I am wearing (it happens even when I don't have any headphones plugged in). There seems to be some connection to sound FX because when I disable these in 'Preferences' the sound goes away. I have already contacted customer services and, unsurprisingly, received a useless automated response which does not even come close to answering my question (it told me how to start the game up if I was having trouble). I have also tried all other methods I have seen online, including updating my drivers and running the game in compatibility mode. None of these things work. Hopefully someone can help. Thank you.

Message 1 of 8 (687 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Crackling Sound and Stuttering Video

EA Live QV Team

@Walnut399

Can you check whether the same thing happens on the lowest GFX settings?

In the game's Graphics Preferences, ensure you have the following options enabled:
- Graphics Quality Preset = Very Low
- Resolution: 1280 x 720
- Window Mode = Windowed
- Visible Character Limit = Low
- Grass Quality = 0
- Shadow Quality = Off

View in thread

Message 6 of 8 (715 Views)

All Replies

[ Edited ]

@Walnut399

Can you provide a dxdiag per this link  , also monitor the CPU temperature when playing and provide the temp when this issue is occurring.

SWTOR Forum Username = OwenBrooks
Australian (Fellow SWTOR Player) volunteer moderator. I do not work for EA.
Photo of my New Speeder