Can't reinstall my game.

by Noyl_37

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Can't reinstall my game.

★★★ Newbie

My game got broken yesterday for no reason, and trying to fix it i broke it totally. Now after launching launcher.exe nothing happens.

But when i am trying to launch installer from swtor.com/download it just sends me a message "Failed to get display name of a shell folder item". It can't see neither drive C:\ D:\ or E:\, printing the path manually gives nothing. Here is a screenshot.

I tried all the common solutions like rebooting PC, launching as administrator, checking PC for viruses, shutting antivirus down, etc.

Now i have no idea what to do next. Reinstall windows? But will it help? Everything else works nice on my PC, just SWTOR got screwed for no reason. Now i have my subscriber days getting billed for no reason and a free weekend with nothing to play.

Also let me throw a rock onto this forum. I wrote a bigger post about all my actions but it disappeared when i've added a screenshot through this button "Browse" in the corner.Teeth bared

Message 1 of 4 (1,322 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Can't reinstall my game.

[ Edited ]
★★★★ Guide

I'd recommend to use the Launcher Repair Utility. It is meant to fix your game folder but it also works for a new installation. Unlike the installer, it doesn't create a desktop shortcut and start menu entry, but it will install the game correctly.

Download here: http://cdn-patch.swtor.com/patch/LauncherRepairUtilityP1.8.2.exe

By the way, if you've had the game installed for longer than 2 years, you probably had the non-streaming launcher. New installations automatically receive the BitRaider launcher which has some bugs so I recommend turning it off. To disable BitRaider, create a new text file in your main SWTOR directory, add the following text:

{ "PatchingMode": "{ \"swtor\": \"SSN\" }"
, "bitraider_disable": true
}

and then save it as "launcher.settings" (with no .txt at the end).

View in thread