transfer sims 4 to hard drive, tips?

by redstarmoo

Original Post

Accepted Solution

transfer sims 4 to hard drive, tips?

★★★★★ Newbie

i plan on transferring my sims 4 game to an 1tb external hard drive (which i do not have yet). i have SO many questions:

- what can i/can i not delete off of my computer entirely once the game is on my external hard drive?

- how do i make sure my saves are kept within the game?

- do i just transfer the saves file from documents>ea>sims 4>saves  directly to my hard drive?

- (this one is probably a dumb question, but i'm not a technologically proficient person AT ALL) do i have to keep the origin application on my pc? 

the sims 4 takes up 20gb of storage so i really want to conserve as much space on my laptop as possible.

any help is appreciated!

Message 1 of 20 (74,197 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: transfer sims 4 to hard drive, tips?

@redstarmoo  Sims 4 data is stored in two different places.  The game's program files are wherever you installed them, by default Program files (x86)\Origin Games.  You can uninstall from there and reinstall to your external hard drive, or move the files directly to the drive through Origin's Move Game function.  When it works, it should transfer and verify the install files in one step, so you don't have to redownload.  In any case, make sure you're installing to a folder within the external, as in D:\Origin games or something similar.

Your user-generated and -downloaded content is stored in the Sims 4 folder in Documents\Electronic Arts.  The game will only read this folder if it's in its proper place.  So moving your saves, or the whole Sims 4 folder, to the external drive won't work.  There's a way to redirect all of Documents to the external, but this isn't a good idea unless you plan on never unplugging the external at all.  It's much better to leave the Sims 4 folder on your internal drive instead.