Re: sims 3 not launching on windows 10 (acer notebook)

by puzzlezaddict

Original Post

sims 3 not launching on windows 10 (acer notebook)

★★ Novice

Hi Team. Can you help a gal out ? I'm a little out of my depth with computers and I have basic knowledge of PC's.
I recently bought a new acer notebook (model - N20H2) and purchased & downloaded sim 3 via Origin.
I was able to download the programs with no issue, however when I try to launch the game it bounces back and forth from starting in Origin, then back to the sims launcher.
I've tried most suggestions that I can find, however no change.
I've removed & re-installed the programs 3 times and no change. 
I've tried moving the sims 3 folder to the desktop, checking that all the settings in control panel are right and still no change.
Does anyone have any advice that can get this game working ?
I've been trying to get it sorted on my own for the last 2 days. 

Thanks in advance !

Message 1 of 6 (936 Views)

@blondeandbeagle  Please run a dxdiag and attach it to a post.

https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/pc/how-to-gather-dxdiag-information/

Please also let me know what antivirus you use.

——————————————————————————————————————————

I don't work for EA. I'm just trying to help fellow players with their games.
Message 2 of 6 (908 Views)

★★ Novice

Hi, thanks for your reply.

I've attached the info. 

I'm using the pre-installed Microsoft defender

Message 3 of 6 (895 Views)

@blondeandbeagle  Please start with a couple of basic checks of your Windows system files:

• Hit Windows key-X
  • Choose either “PowerShell (Administrator)” or “Command prompt (Administrator),” whichever option is offered
  • Inside the window that appears, copy and paste “DISM.exe /Online /Cleanup-image /Restorehealth” without quotes into the window, and enter
  • The system will start validating soon. If it throws an error, please list it here
  • After it reaches 100%, hit Windows key-X again