i cant install the sims 3 because it keeps saying updatetool.exe has stopped working

by ruby2197

Original Post

i cant install the sims 3 because it keeps saying updatetool.exe has stopped working

★ Newbie

please help, i'm new to the sims and each time i install the sims it just keeps saying how updatetool.exe has stopped working, i dont understand what that means

Message 1 of 6 (547 Views)

Re: i cant install the sims 3 because it keeps saying updatetool.exe has stopped working

★ Pro

Hi

Are you on PC or MAC?

Are you trying to install from disc or digital from Origin?

Message 2 of 6 (544 Views)

Re: i cant install the sims 3 because it keeps saying updatetool.exe has stopped

★★★ Newbie

This is happening to me too, and while (of course) I can't speak for anyone else, I'm on a PC and trying to install from disc.

Message 3 of 6 (495 Views)

Re: i cant install the sims 3 because it keeps saying updatetool.exe has stopped

@LeilianasCoffee  Are you also trying to install Origin from disc?  If so, please download and install a standalone copy of Origin first, then install the game once the fully updated version of Origin is up and running.

If that's not what you're doing, please let me know when you see the error, and post a screenshot of it as well.

——————————————————————————————————————————

I don't work for EA. I'm just trying to help fellow players with their games.
Message 4 of 6 (476 Views)

★★★ Newbie

@puzzlezaddict It would be fair to say that I am trying to install the Sims 3, and if I needed to install Origin to get to a place where I could use Sims 3, so be it. So yes, I was trying to install Origin from my Sims 3 disc.