Sims 4 insta crashing in past few days? Read here.

by pikuchi

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Sims 4 insta crashing in past few days? Read here.

★★ Novice

Symptoms: 

Sims 4 (64bit!) instantly crashes after or while loading. Usually no error given just CTD and a dmp file. This happens to 64 bit version, not 32bit version, its a hint already there.

As a pc technician I did look into dmp files and few things and verified ideas with 32/64bit vs x machines, and found what seem to cause it for most people here (100% success here)

Now the last few days Microsoft sent out some Windows 10 updates, and specificly update KB4515384 which is the sinner, causing many Sims 4 to crash. 

While this may NOT be an perfect solution for everyone, its amazing how many Sim 4 copies in this area that all the sudden started working after that KB4515384 is removed.

1) Open start menu type CONTROL to open control panel
2) Open Programs & Features 
3) In "Program & features" choose "view installed updates"(top left corner)
4) Click on "Security update for Microsoft Windows (KB4515384)" and then click "Uninstall", wait for process to finish and it most likely require a restart of the computer.

Hopefully, Sims 4 64bit, should now work again.

Good luck, 

Message 1 of 15 (3,072 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Sims 4 insta crashing in past few days? Read here.

@deoroller67  If you have MSI Afterburner or RivaTuner Statistics Server running, please close it and try to play again.  A couple of people have reported that RTSS was the problem, and also that it apparently kept running even during a clean boot.

——————————————————————————————————————————

I don't work for EA. I'm just trying to help fellow players with their games.

View in thread

Message 12 of 15 (2,944 Views)

All Replies

Hero (Retired)
@pikuchi