Sims 3 keeps crashing (Solved)

by Pluviophist

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Sims 3 keeps crashing (Solved)

[ Edited ]
★★★ Newbie

Hi, I have been playing the sims 3 for about 5 years now, and I have never had a problem like this before. I got a new computer about a year ago and have been playing the sims 3 on it for almost a year now with no problems except for a little bit of lag. These are my specs:

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-7400 CPU @ 3.00GHz, 3001 Mhz, 4 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)

I have my DxDiag in a notepad on my desktop as well but there is a LOT of text and I'm not sure which information would be exactly useful. If anyone needs any of that information I have that as well.

I started playing the game a few days ago after not having played for a while, loaded up a new world save with a new family, and after a few minutes of playing I noticed a glitch in my game. I sent my sim to get a job at the grocery store and the entire UI was completely black. After this happened, my game crashed. I figured there might be some corrupt CC in my packages, so I decided to do a clean factory reset on my game. I installed the CUSTARD Sims3 Pack Cleaner ([Edited by EA_Mai: @Pluviophist this kind of links to downloads are not allowed for security reasons]) and discovered I did in fact have some corrupt CC files in my game. I deleted those, then merged all my package files together again (which I have done before), and proceeded with the factory reset. I started my game up again, no package files or CC installed, only base game and expansion packs. My lag was completely gone, however after a few minutes of playing again, the glitch happened again. This time it happened while in build mode (I loaded up bridgeport and selected a sim who was already living there to test out the smoothness of my game). The build mode UI turned black after a few seconds of using it, then my game crashed once again.