Sims 3 has stopped working on windows 10 laptop

by DrunkOnShadows

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Sims 3 has stopped working on windows 10 laptop

★★ Novice

So I have been playing the Sims 3 fine on this laptop for about a year but for the last couple of weeks every time I try to play the launcher opens and I click play and it goes to a black screen and then just goes back to the desktop. The game doesn't load. It also doesn't let me install stuff from the store. I can download the stuff from store to launcher but then when I try to install them it brings up a black box (which is normally the loading box) and then just disappears.

I have tried running the game as an administrator, I have tried different compatibility mode (went through all the compatibility options on the list in that section of properties). I uninstalled and reinstalled the game and all expansion packs. I tried clicking on the repair option on Origin but nothing seems to be working.

I attached a DxDiag document but I don't know if there is anything on that which would suggest a problem.

As I said I've had this laptop (HP Omen) and it has ran the Sims 3 perfectly and then a couple of weeks ago it just stopped. Does anyone have any suggestions of things I could try to get it working again? 

Message 1 of 3 (1,295 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Sims 3 has stopped working on windows 10 laptop

@DrunkOnShadows  The only thing in your dxdiag that jumps out at me right away, other than the TS3 crashes of course, is that you're running out of storage on your C drive.  15 GB isn't really enough, although I doubt it's the issue here.  Still, it would be helpful to free up a bit more for the overall health of your system, and you'll need it if and when you update your OS build.