Re: Sims 3 Crashes Unexpectedly in CAS

by puzzlezaddict

Original Post

Sims 3 Crashes Unexpectedly in CAS

★ Novice

Hi, Sorry if I mess this up as it is my first time using the EA Support Forum. Basically, after reinstalling Origin and then the Sims 3 on my PC, I keep encountering an error during create a sim where the game crashes unexpectedly. This does not at all occur outside of (before getting to or after finishing my sims in) create a sim. Sometimes selection boxes will turn black before the game crashes, and other times the sim will become corrupted. I haven't found any solution to this on the forum, even from those who have had similar issues. 

Crashes during CAS

I can play regularly outside of Create a Sim. Usually CAS lasts for about 5 minutes before crashing.

I have University, Supernatural and Island Paradise. The Sims 3 crashes with or without them.

I have lots of custom content. I verified that these are not recognized as bad custom content (that can cause crashing) and got all of my custom content from The Sims Resource. My mods are NRaas, a Medic Career package and A graphics enhancer, all from mod the sims (except Nraas).

DxDiag included as text file.

Message 1 of 4 (2,016 Views)

[ Edited ]

@ProtakuEmmie  I've moved your post to the Sims 3 PC tech forum.  Thanks for the dxdiag; it makes things so much easier to start with one.

First of all, the usual tools to detect bad cc are not 100% accurate, so you could still have some.  (The Sims Resource has definitely been known to host items that cause problems, by the way.)  NRaas mods are well-made and safe to use, and I wouldn't expect the medic career package to cause problems in CAS.  (Still, check its page on Mod the Sims to see whether it's updated for patch 1.67/1.69.)  The graphics enhancer might be a problem though.  If you want, you can PM me its link, or name it here without a link, unless it's adult-themed.