Re: Lost all my data

by puzzlezaddict

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Lost all my data

★★ Novice

Hi,

I've been playing the Sims 4 for a few years now and really like it.

Now I recently downloaded a modification for the first time, and did exactly what I read about it. But when I opened the game after that, all my data was gone and it was like opening the Sims for the first time ever. I immediately removed the modification since I had read that I had to do that if my game suddenly started acting strange after installing a modification. After that it still didn't work so I looked up this problem and found a way to fix my game on this forum by "fixing" my game on Origin and then some other stuff. Now I've found out that in my files all the screen shots and saves I've ever made are still there, thankfully! But every time I open Sims it's still gone and it seems like I've never created any households or houses in the Sims. Does anyone have a solution for this? Do I need to sync my files and Origin with each other? And if you have to, how? Thank you in advance, I am very afraid that I will lose all my households and houses forever... 

Message 1 of 5 (715 Views)

Accepted Solution

@JetJan0809  If you still want to try to recover your old saves, look at where the new saves land and put the old ones there too.  (You can distinguish among save files by their modified dates.)  You can also try recovering the backup copies of those saves, if any exist.  Use the manual method here:

https://sims4.crinrict.com/eng/2014/09/recover-backup-save-game/

On the other hand, if it's not a big deal to you, then don't worry about it.  And yes, definitely make backups, as you said.

——————————————————————————————————————————

I don't work for EA. I'm just trying to help fellow players with their games.

View in thread

Message 4 of 5 (599 Views)

All Replies