Lagging on sims 3

by ieatsims4

Original Post

Lagging on sims 3

★★★ Newbie

I experience lag. I play this game on windows but I experience lag and my game loads for a while till I get something done. It's my first time downloading and i don't know how to work it yet. Please if someone can reply to this that would be really helpful. I'm playing on a windows laptop. I don't know what to do because it keeps lagging. Please I need help. I also downloaded it on steam for 19.99 i'm new to the game so I might need extra help. Youtube videos don't work at all.

Message 1 of 7 (804 Views)

Re: Lagging on sims 3

@ieatsims4  What world(s) are you playing in, and have you added any mods or custom content?  It's fine if you have; just let me know.

Please also run a dxdiag and attach it to a post.

https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/pc/how-to-gather-dxdiag-information/

——————————————————————————————————————————

I don't work for EA. I'm just trying to help fellow players with their games.
Message 2 of 7 (797 Views)

★★★★★ Novice

Sims 3 tends to be fairly laggy because of the memory restraints. I'm not sure how familiar you are with computers, 32 bit vs 64 bit systems. Basically the sims 3 was designed to run on an older system that communicates at lower capacities. In technical terms the sims 3 was designed for 32-bit with a max memory usage of about 2 GB. Which means it doesn't matter how much memory you have installed on your system, sims 3 can't use it. There are other ways to smooth the game out, primarily through the video card. There is a huge difference in game performance in relation to the video card you are using. This can be an issue on laptops, which often have lower quality built-in video cards. Things you can do to get around this (won't effect your loading times, which are always slow) is to avoid having too many sims on one lot. Parties are the worst. If you continue to use your laptop hold off on the expansions, which will slow it down even more.