Improving game performance

by DJGeoRob

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Improving game performance

★★★★ Apprentice

Hello! 

So recently my game experienced a crash where it just stopped working and I had to hard reset my machine just to get it back again. After the crash, when I started playing again, I noticed that any given household does not load. I tried everything - removed mods, reinstalled the game, increased space requirements (even moved it to an external hard drive that I bought specifically for gaming purposes), repaired the game twice and slowly rebuilt the folder. Everything seems to not work although now it's loading but it's taking 10 minutes to load even a one-sim household on a 20x15 lot (and mods/CC are not even back yet!)

Any ideas on how to improve my game performance here? I just want to get back to playing smoothly as before. 

Message 1 of 12 (576 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Improving game performance

@DJGeoRob  If the same problem happened when you played forward, try patching and then reverting back to that same save point.  Today's patch is supposed to have fixed the issue for new saves, or those that newly go through Winterfest, although older saves will continue to be affected for a while.

——————————————————————————————————————————

I don't work for EA. I'm just trying to help fellow players with their games.

View in thread

Message 11 of 12 (556 Views)

All Replies

@DJGeoRob  Please move your entire Sims 4 folder out of Documents\Electronic Arts and onto your desktop, or wherever you want, launch the game to spawn a clean folder, and don't add anything to that folder yet.  Just start a new save and check loading times.  Let me know whether they're any better.

If you still get long loading times, please see whether OneDrive is enabled and set to automatically sync the contents of Documents with cloud storage.  If so, please either disable the auto syncing or disable OneDrive entirely.