Dot.: Graphics Driver Issue

by kreatora

Original Post

Graphics Driver Issue

★★★ Novice

Yesterday I installed Sims 4 onto my laptop. When trying to open it, an error message popped up saying "Unable to start: Can't run The Sims 4 with the video card in this system. Please check that the video card meets the minimum specifications and that the latest video drivers are installed."

I have tried to research for a solution and tried to work out what it could be. I am not very good with computers so am unsure if what I have been trying is anywhere close to correct. However, I think it is not working because for some reason the display adapter is "Standard VGA Graphics Adapter".

There is a sticker on my laptop saying Intel core 1.5 so I was under the impression that Sims 4 would be compatible with my laptop. I have visited the Intel website where I was able to find information on my laptop.

The link for it is here https://www.intel.com/content/www/us/en/support/intel-driver-support-assistant.html

I'm not sure if you will be able to see the information for my laptop when clicking on that link. If not, the operating system is Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit), the processor is intel core i5-2450M CPU @ 2.50GHZ and the chipset is Intel 7 series/C216 Chipset Family.

I found on a website some instructions to get me to change the graphics driver. I went to control panel and then to device manager. I then right clicked on "Standard VGA Graphics Adapter" and then clicked "Update Driver Software" then "Browse my computer for driver software" then "Let me pick from a list of device drivers on my computer". The only option that came up was "Standard VGA Graphics Adapter".