Constant lag after last update

by alternatealice

Original Post

Constant lag after last update

★★ Novice

I've been playing the sims on this computer for the past two years, and it's always run smooth as silk without a single issue. However, a couple of days after the last update my game just started lagging. It lags right from the moment it boots up, everything runs jumpy and slow. I've tried altering settings, I've tried updating and clearing my computer, I've even opened it up and cleaned it in case that was an issue. No dice. The sims still runs like a snail.

This is the only game that does this. I have plenty of other more intense games that run fine, and my sims2 that I also play through origin runs perfectly fine as well. I've tried uninstalling and reinstallng TWICE (which, when you have nearly all the expansions takes a lot of time) and I've tried deleting both my saves and mods. This also has not helped. 

I'm at a loss. I'm truly desperate here. I miss playing the sims dearly, and cannot think of any other computer issues it could be. It has to be one of the game. Please help, or I fear I will never learn the secrets of strangetown. This has been happening for over two weeks now. 

Message 1 of 10 (7,254 Views)

Re: Constant lag after last update

★★ Pro

@alternatealice 

Have you tried updating your graphics drivers and turning off Origin in-game?

How to Find devices and updating drivers on your PC
https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/pc/finding-devices-and-updating-drivers/

Turn off Origin In-Game:
Open Origin, Select Origin > Application Settings > Origin In Game tab and click the on/off switch to disable Origin In Game. - This deactivates Origin In-Game, as it has been known to cause problems with games.

Restart the computer, to help the computer refresh itself, and try launching the game again.

Start the game in Windowed mode:
https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/the-sims/the-sims-4/playing-the-sims-4-in-windowed-mode/