AMD graphics card not recognised

by Sunset_Gossip

Original Post

Accepted Solution

AMD graphics card not recognised

★★★ Novice

Hi, I'm new to this so I'm sorry if I'm asking in the wrong area or doing anything else wrong.

To get to the point, my graphics card isn't being recognised and I've done all the steps to fixing it up until you have to edit the graphicsrules.sgr. My graphics card is an AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT and I can't figure out what I need to convert that into when I'm writing it into the file. I've tried loads of random ones like "*RX 57*0 XT*" to no avail Frown

Any help would be grand!

Message 1 of 11 (3,203 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: AMD graphics card not recognised

[ Edited ]

@Sunset_Gossip  It sounds like you already know where to look, but just to be clear, both graphicscards.sgr and graphicsrules.sgr are in the same location, and you'll need to edit both to get your card recognized.

For anyone else reading, these instructions are specific to the original poster's card.  If you'd like help getting your own card recognized, please create your own thread and post the first 40 lines of your deviceconfig, found in Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3.

Spoiler

First, open graphicscards.sgr, and right at the top is the list of AMD cards, starting with this:

vendor "ATI" 0x1002
card 0x6798 "AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series"
card 0x6799 "AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series"
card 0x679a "AMD Radeon HD 7900 Series"

under the vendor "ATI" line, create a new line and copy and paste this:

card 0x731f "AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Series"

Save, quit, and open graphicsrules.sgr.  Hit crtl-F and search for 29?0, which will take you to these lines:

elseif (match("${cardVendor}", "ATI"))
if (match("${cardName}", "*HD 29?0*") or match("${cardName}", "*HD 36?0*") or match("${cardName}", "*HD 38?0*") or match("${cardName}"

[etc.]

Change the HD 29?0 to 5700 XT , but don't touch anything else, not even the asterisks.  This will classify your card as uber, as it should be.