Which MacBook is best for Sims 4?

by AriaMad2

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Which MacBook is best for Sims 4?

★ Guide

(This is my first time looking at buying a computer, so I’m sorry if I don’t understand much) I’m looking into buying a MacBook (since I’ll have to if I get accepted into the school I want) but I don’t know what model would fit my needs best.

Basically, I’m just after something that can run The Sims while being able to do everything else I need. I was looking at either the MacBook Air or the cheaper MacBook Pro (without the touch bar). Which one would be able to run the game better?

Message 1 of 14 (54,797 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Which MacBook is best for Sims 4?

@AriaMad2

Gaming is largely about the graphics card -

MacBooks, MacBook Airs,13" MacBook Pros and the entry level 21" iMac don't have graphics cards per se, they have integrated processors/graphics chips and share system memory (the 8Gb RAM that @Tremayne4260 is referring to).

15" MacBook Pros and all other iMacs have dedicated/discrete graphics cards which have their own memory, much better for gaming. Apple use mobile versions of NVIDIA and AMD graphics cards in these Macs (not including the iMac Pro) - the iMac is essentially a bigger, sometimes more powerful, desktop version of the 15" MacBook Pro.

If you're limited to the non-touch bar 13" MacBook Pro be aware that if you install a lot of packs to the game it will start slowing down significantly and you will have to keep your settings on the low side in-game to keep gameplay relatively smooth.

The non-touch bar 13" has a dual core processor whereas the touch bar 13" has a quad core processor so is more powerful.

And yes, the MacBook Airs are great for their purpose - mobile computing for school and work - but absolutely not designed for gaming,

The Sims 3 Mac Forum - | - The Sims 4 Mac Forum -
- Clearing Origin cache - | - Mac specific TS4 issues -
AHQSigImage.png