Re: Sims 4 freezes on startup then crashes - MacBook Pro (Mojave)

by dzm06

Original Post

Sims 4 freezes on startup then crashes - MacBook Pro (Mojave)

[ Edited ]
★★ Novice

Hi,

I'm really sorry to be making another post like this, but I've been through dozens of threads and nothing has worked. I've been playing the Sims 4 since 2017 and have had ups and downs with how well it works, but I've always gotten it to run eventually. Since July 2019, I haven't even been able to get the game to open. 

I just checked and I am running the latest version of Origin (10.5.52.32372) and Sims 4 (updated last night). I also have no problem running games from Steam or other clients, it's just Origin and Sims 4.

Here's what happens:

1. I open Origin, which sometimes takes a few tries as the application freezes. I often have to force quit and try 3-4 times before it opens.
  2. Once Origin opens, I click on the Sims. I sometimes also have to force quit the app 3-4 times before I get the loading screen.
  3. It then opens to the blue Sims 4 screen.
  4. The game freezes on THE SIMS 4 logo and I get the rainbow wheel. Often the startup music starts playing, but the game itself is still frozen.
  5. After a few minutes of this, the game crashes.

I've tried:

• Removing mods -- I only had one CC file and I removed it over a year ago when it stopped working after a Sims update. I don't even have a mods folder anymore from what I can tell -- could it be hiding somewhere?
  • Turning off Origin in-game; this has fixed stuff in the past but now it doesn't stop the crash
  • Repairing the game (many times! it's always very slow, not sure if this says anything); still crashes
  • Moving Sims 4 folder to desktop and starting fresh; still crashes
  • Opening Sims 4 from the application folder; opens more quickly but still crashes
  • Removing the Sims 4 file in the Package Content folder; still crashes
  • Updating everything; still crashes