Sims 4 does not launch from Origin.

Here is what I have already tried in order of how I tried them:

-updated game

-repaired game

-ran reports and deleted any corrupt mod files

-moved sims 4 folder to desktop

-made sure origin wasn't running in background

-Deleted all mods

-Deleted the content of the recommended cache folders (not the folders themselves)

-Uninstalled all sims 4 content and reinstalled it.

-I do not have catalina, my mac runs "High sierra"

At this point, I have completely lost years worth of work and gameplay 5 times in the years I have owned the sims, and I'm totally at a loss. I can't even begin to express my frustration (not to mention the money I've spent and lost and doesn't seem like I will be able to get a refund) Any new suggestions would be helpful, I am not a computer expert, but  since EA games gives you no help I read a lot of great blogs and forums with people who had suggestions and I followed them all.

Message 1 of 16 (35,993 Views)

Re: Sims 4 does not launch from Origin.

@heytherehil

Origin must be running in the background for the game to run. Try the Origin reset tool - https://help.ea.com/en-gb/help/origin/origin/how-to-reset-origin-on-mac/

The Sims 3 Mac Forum - | - The Sims 4 Mac Forum -
- Clearing Origin cache - | - Mac specific TS4 issues -
AHQSigImage.png
Please do not PM me unless I ask you to, I won't reply
- I am not affiliated with EA in anyway -
Message 2 of 16 (35,985 Views)

★★ Novice

Hey there!

Thanks for your prompt response (I have read many of your posts and your fixes have helped me a ton in the past!!)

Unfortunately I followed those steps and it is still not launching. I know that someone once said you have to be logged in as administrator? That may be the issue but I do not know how to check that.

Message 3 of 16 (35,982 Views)

@heytherehil

Standard smile

After running the reset tool did you get the confirmation popup that preference and cache files had been deleted?