Re: Is there a way to repair a corrupted save file?

by SDPhantomGamer

Original Post

Is there a way to repair a corrupted save file?

★★ Novice

SO, I've been playing the same save pretty much for 1,5 years. I have a very "generations" gameplay style and every single household in it has a family tree with ancestors going 2, 3 generations. I'm very attached to it, and would like to keep playing it, BUT for the past month or so it has been throwing up random LEs I cant seem to get rid of, even after taking out all mods, deleting the cache, repairing the game. I started a new save and sure enough, no LEs – the problem is in my save file.

I'm guessing it's gotten corrupted somewhere along the way, is there any way I can repair the file? Because even if I saved all my lots and households to the library and downloaded them onto a new save, it wouldn't be the same because all their relationships and ancestry would be gone. Help?

Message 1 of 3 (626 Views)

[ Edited ]
★★★★★ Apprentice

There isn't anything I can think of to fix the save itself. The game does keep a copy of the last 5 versions of a save if that helps any. To access them, you go to "Load Game" from the main menu. Select your save slot. To the left of the play button is "Recover Save". This opens the list of past save versions. Clicking on any of them copies it to a new save slot with "[Recovered]" appended to the name. From there, you can load it like any other save.

Message 2 of 3 (585 Views)

Hero (Retired)

@alad050193 - Try the recovery that @SDPhantomGamer suggested first, it's excellent advice. If you've been dealing with the corruption for a while, you may not have any good auto-saves, though.