Game is stuck on Finalizing after Installing

by mschro303

Original Post

Game is stuck on Finalizing after Installing

[ Edited ]
★★★ Newbie

I am having the same problem but on the Mac and I am not tech savvy at all so if someone could walk me through step by step to get sims 3 to stop saying "finalizing" I would really appreciate it.  It is not a wifi problem, I tried restarting my laptop, and I tried logging in and out of Origin. 

Message 1 of 22 (19,615 Views)

Re: Game is stuck on Finalizing after Installing

@mschro303  The original thread you posted in was for SimCity, so I split your comment and moved it into the Sims/mac section.

To get rid of the "finalizing" message, please run the Origin reset tool for macs:

https://help.ea.com/en-us/help/origin/origin/how-to-reset-origin-on-mac/

You also don't need to have Origin running to play—just use the Sims 3 icon in Applications.  If you get an unknown error message, please let me know which packs you've installed so far.  It's easier to work with just the base game first, and then add packs once you've confirmed that it launches, but either way is fine.

——————————————————————————————————————————

I don't work for EA. I'm just trying to help fellow players with their games.
Message 2 of 22 (19,508 Views)

★★★ Newbie

Thank you SO much. I really appreciate it!

Message 3 of 22 (19,480 Views)

★★★ Newbie

Wait, the reinstall worked but instead of the game saying finalizing it says play and when i click it a window says "unknown error occurred."

Message 4 of 22 (19,474 Views)

@mschro303  No worries; I unmarked the solution, since you're still having issues. There are several causes for the unknown error, and which workarounds you apply will depend on a couple of factors.