Re: Shadowy Box Glitch Sims 4

by MintMario

Original Post

Bugged shadows with reflections and post-processing off

[ Edited ]
★ Apprentice

@Bluebellflora Hi! this is my first time posting here, I have experienced this glitch and tried the workaraound chaging the SSAO configuration but it didn't work. After some trial and error I found out that this glitch only happened whenever I had mirrors in the house and that changing this line (prop $ConfigGroup RenderReflectionsEnabled) to false in every setting solved the issue, now i don't have any reflections on the mirrors but looks like the issue is solved. I did this after repairing my game so the GraphicsRules.sgr file should be clean. I hope this helps and can be patched in the future!

I'm playing on a Mac (Radeon Pro 560X 4 GB / Catalina 10.15.5)

(Edit - split from previous bug thread here related to Intel graphics and edited title, Bluebellflora)

Message 1 of 7 (1,364 Views)

@MintMario 

Thank you! That's really helpful. Which model Mac do you have? Do you think it's the exact same issue or a different one? Because this issue only affected low spec. Intel chips before it was fixed.

- Does the mirror need to be in the same room as the sim or just anywhere on the lot?

- Do you have a screenshot too with mirrors present and without for comparison?

- Instead of editing the GraphicsRules, does changing the reflections setting in the game options also get rid of it?

I may split this into its own thread as a new issue.

The Sims 3 Mac Forum - | - The Sims 4 Mac Forum -
- Clearing Origin cache - | - Mac specific TS4 issues -
AHQSigImage.png
Please do not PM me unless I ask you to, I won't reply
- I am not affiliated with EA in anyway -
Message 2 of 7 (1,358 Views)

★ Apprentice

@Bluebellflora The model of the iMac: Retina 4K, 21.5 inches, 2019 / 3,2 GHz Intel Core i7 de 6 core / 32 GB 2667 MHz DDR4