Re: It's completely crashed - Legacy Edition? Updates? I'm lost.

by Juniper18

Original Post

Re: Sims 4 does not launch in macOS Sierra

@jigstarz  The problem is likely that your version of High Sierra isn't fully updated.  Installing Catalina will fix it; so would Mojave.  (Reinstalling Origin and/or Sims 4 doesn't help.)  I don't know if you accidentally installed the Legacy Edition, but you don't need it—your Mac will run the standard edition just fine.

Thanks for the info.

——————————————————————————————————————————

I don't work for EA. I'm just trying to help fellow players with their games.
Message 101 of 519 (2,267 Views)

It's completely crashed - Legacy Edition? Updates? I'm lost.

★★ Novice

Hi there! 

I have been playing Sims 4 every few days for over 6 months on my Macbook Pro (details below). In the last week, the game has completely crashed and I am unable to open it at all. 

When the game normally opens, it appears to zoom in on my desktop before a black screen slides across in full screen from the right and then the game loads full screen no problem - the game has never crashed on me. Over the past week, however, it gets to the part where the black screen slides in, the black full screen makes it halfway across the screen and the rainbow spinning wheel appears and everything freezes while it spins. Then I have to manually shut down the laptop in order to get it to respond again. When I restart, it says the computer shut down because of a problem. 

I am unsure of whether this has anything to do with the Sims 4 Legacy Edition and I am unsure if I need to download that edition as I do not know how my machine compares with the requirements of the Sims 4 since the update. I do recall my Sims updated around the time everything stopped working, but I am not sure what actually updated as I think Jungle Adventure also finished downloading and installed at this time too.