Help us improve Answers HQ! Take Survey No, Thanks

Scrabble update has eliminated ability to connect with & chat to Origin friends

by wrenbird8

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Scrabble update has eliminated ability to connect with & chat to Origin friends

★★★★ Newbie

My Scrabble app on my iPad and iPhone have just been updated and now I am unable to see the identities of players, I can no longer invite specific players to play,  and there is no longer an ability to chat.  I have been playing since 2011 and I have accumulated many friends world wide through Origins in this game.  I am now cut off from all of these friends.  This is a disappointing and unfortunate development.  Why has EA taken a game that worked very well and made it worse?  Upgrades should improve on games, not decrease the features and functionality.  This is absurd.

Message 1 of 14 (4,221 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Scrabble update has eliminated ability to connect with & chat to Origin

Community Manager (retired)

Hi @wrenbird8,

In order to see your friends and chat with them again you need log into your Facebook and / or Origin account. 

To log in, go to Options and click on the Facebook and / or Origin login buttons and enter your credentials. 

ScrabbleOptionsLogIns.PNG

Here are a few additional details taken from the FAQ:

If my friend is not signed up with Facebook or Origin, can I play them online?
In order to play online against a friend, both players need an ID through either Facebook or Origin

If I am not signed up with Facebook or Origin, can I still play someone online?
You can play random opponents by clicking on the Random Opponent icon at the top of the menu screen. If you want to play with friends, you’ll need to sign in through Facebook or Origin.

Hope that helps.

View in thread

Message 2 of 14 (4,311 Views)

All Replies

Community Manager (retired)

Hi @wrenbird8,