Re: The balance between Plants & Zombies

by BlazinsZ

Original Post

★★★★ Novice

Resurrecting an old thread, it looks like.  I started playing about a month ago, after the last expansion was out.  Just hit 50, playing almost exclusively as zombies for PvP.  My take is that overall it's pretty balanced between plants and zombies.  BUT... the zombies require more particular decks and generally more rare cards to compete at the highest levels.

I say that, because it was quite a challenge against 40+ players as a zombie, though I eventually found decks that could climb the ladder.  But they were custom-made decks and weren't very effective until I had most of the particular cards I was looking for.  Fast forward to 50, and I just bought some plant heroes to fill out my set and have some fun.  However, even though I had purchased quite a few packs and had decent cards on both sides, I had recycled most of my legendary plants to get better zombies.  Even the ones often used in the decks I faced against the highest level plants.  So I put together a mish-mash deck with Rose, with a little strategy built in, but also using some beginner cards... and I had no problem beating 40+ zombie players.  I don't think it had to do with the skill of the players, and I did have plenty of experience playing as zombies, so I knew what I'd probably come up against.  But ultimately I'd say the zombies don't have quite enough powerful non-Legendary/Super-Rare cards that you can build combos around (I'm looking at you, Venusflytraplanet and Heartichoke that's WAY too powerful and easy to get).

TL/DR: Plants really feel like easy mode, even though ultimately both sides can have good enough decks to win.

Message 81 of 111 (4,156 Views)

★★★ Guide