Rigged

by gaveveteran1976

Original Post

Rigged

★★★ Novice
The draw luck seems riggged. Too often I get everything I need or the opponents do. I’d love to believe it’s just random but there is no way. Everyone applauds this game for balance. I believe EA rigged some stuff like draw luck to give the illusion of balance between heroes and to allow weaker players to enjoy the game. Anyone agree or disagree?
Message 1 of 26 (3,527 Views)

Re: Rigged

★★ Guide

I answered this in the balance thread, but here is what I wrote.

There is a lot of research on bias of perception of randomness and how the mind works to make us perceive that kind of pattern in things. Essentially, we tend to see patterns in things that might not necessarily be there (look up the term .apophenia).

This is a feeling that happens in all card games and you will see people posting about games being rigged for all games. As a game developer, I can tell you that it's much harder to rig a game at runtime so that it feels good than to just balance the pieces directly.

If you find yourself getting exactly what you need very often, it means that your deck is well built and has consistency against the meta you are facing. It also means you made the right decisions early on in the game to get it to a state where the cards you are drawing are likely to be your outs. This is why skilled players tend to repeatedly and consistently win even though the game has elements of randomness in it.

Message 2 of 26 (3,503 Views)

★★ Guide