Re: Wing Commander 3 issue

by EA_Nils

Original Post

Highlighted

Community Manager

@Lordofthekeg wrote:

I'm having issues getting WC3 installed.  It downloads but never installs.  It just keeps downloading in a loop.  I'm running Windows 8.1 pro.  I just downloaded and installed Sims 2, so I know the permissions are correct, also I'm an admin on my PC.

@Lordofthekeg  Hi,

Do you have UAC (user account control) enabled and set to notify?

Cheers,

Nils

Message 21 of 132 (2,216 Views)

game not playable

★★★ Newbie

wing commander iv will not update loads movies fine but game screens bounce

Message 22 of 132 (1,164 Views)

Wing Commander meant for CRT Monitors

★★★ Newbie

i downloaded wing commander 3 and was a little excited at first. so i launched and and wow, i totally was blown away at the huge blocky pixels lol. Then i remembered something. i bought at sams club a sega genesis classic game console which had over 80 games pre installed. here is what i am getting to, in the instructions it said if you are playing on a flat screen monitor 24" that i had to optimize the video settings for something.

so, these old games for 5 bucks are a good deal, but i wish they would have updated the graphics.

i mean its great the updated so they will run on our current pc's, but someone forgot about the monitors we are using today versus in the 90's lol

just my 2 cents

Message 23 of 132 (1,132 Views)

[ Edited ]
★ Novice

@EA_Nils  

I played with a few more UAC settings and was finally able to get it installed.  I appreciate the help!

Message 24 of 132 (1,154 Views)

Wing Commander 3; Heart of the Tiger

★★★ Newbie

Hello,

after downloading and installing the game I started just to have a first impression.

There was a calibrating tool running for the joy stick and mybe something else.

I thougt I will calibate later..... no way.

I uninstalled, downloaded and installed it again, no chance.

I checked the program folder for applications to start...