Is Bf1942 & its expansions, officially considered abandonware?

by Professor_Smith

Original Post

Is Bf1942 & its expansions, officially considered abandonware?

[ Edited ]
★★ Novice
Hello,
My name is Joshua Hales (known as Professor_Smith on the bf1942 forums). I have been creating a minimod for bf1942 for the last 15+years. About a year ago, after game spy arcade shut down, players started creating Bf1942 installs that would fix the multiplayer internet game freeze issue (due to the game spy arcade servers being unavailable). I was wondering if you could tell me if Bf1942 and its 2 expansions Road to Rome & Secret Weapons of WWII, are truly "abandonware" or not?

If not, then could you please send me an official download link to EA Games' server fix install file for bf1942 and its expansions?

Also, if we are not allowed to place said files on our website for players to download8 them, can we post a link that directs users to EA's files that you provide me the link(s) to?

Thank You,

Joshua Hales
Professor Smith
Message 1 of 4 (2,208 Views)

Re: Is Bf1942 & its expansions, officially considered abandonware?

[ Edited ]
★★★ Guide

with ea you never know they are pure profit based company they shut down revive network just for the fact that they give away free download links for bf2 bf2142 both games were dead if it was not for

revive network!.

on both games you cant play multiplayer with out master server you need to login ! but gamespy is gone so you no longer can so now ea cant sell you a useless product or they will have to give official server support  so they just removed all ways of buying bf1942 bf2 bf2142 now here comes revive network they done what ea would not do!

i still  remember what ea  say on there own page it was beyond there technical ability! to safe gamespy games !

( found the page Standard smile  https://www.ea.com/news/update-on-ea-titles-hosted-on-gamespy?isLocalized=true )