Re: QtWebEngineProcess.exe process

by Alpha0n3

Original Post

[ Edited ]
★★★ Novice

Re: Nils

What you replied shows you don't understand the problem at all.  This background process is taking huge chunks of memory and making it impossible for games to run.  Considering the whole selling point of the Origin client is to help play games, having its update now make people unable to do so is terrible.  I also never used Origin, I in fact have it running in offline mode as much as possible, and now I can't even uninstall the pathetic memory hogging "update" and go back to the older, still useless, but at least not computer breaking version.  I am well above all the specs, and now when I try to play a game the input freezes constantly and randomly crashes because my 16 GBs of memory are being hogged by your background process.  Ridiculous.

And a side note to your patronizing "common practice" comment: as a computer programmer myself, and the child of 2 computer programmers, I can tell you that any process that has to run 2, 3, 4 other processes that hog memory in the background just to be open (not to run anything else, just be open) is a bad program.  Even current Windows OSs shouldn't need as much running in the background as they do.  "Common" practice in modern programming is more sloppy coding because we don't have to worry about making every bit and byte and nibble count, because memory is cheap now.

Message 21 of 152 (5,370 Views)

Please.Fix.Origin!!!

[ Edited ]
★★★★ Novice

It starts those QtWebEngineProcess processes and ruins the gameplay of every single game! I don't care what are those processes, what they do, or why do you insist on having them, all i know is that everything worked fine before the latest update and now i can't play anything! It's disgrace that you can't play games you bought...

Message 22 of 152 (5,161 Views)
Highlighted

[ Edited ]
★★★ Apprentice

A lot of times You can't acces the taskbar because of these s#!@+.