Re: Origin setup system error

by jasjb94

Original Post

Origin setup system error

★★★ Newbie

First of all, I'd like to clarify that I've never used Origin before. This is my first experience with the platform and I gotta say... It's not making a good first impression with me.

So first off (obviously), I tried downloading Origin onto my PC from the website. No problems there of course, but that's literally the only thing that worked.

Went to my downloads and tried to originthinsetup.exe... (whatever "thin" means...) It immediately came up with an error stating that msvcp140.dll was not found, and then followed up with a second error message stating that vcruntime140.dll wasn't found either. Wonderful. Oh, did I forget to mention that this is the latest version of the software.

Despite this, I wanted to give Origin a chance and try and fix the issue. The error messages recommended reinstalling the software in case that worked. I didn't have any faith that trying this would actually achieve anything; but I tried anyway. Spoiler alert, It didn't work. So then I referred to the forums to see if anyone else has experienced something similar. Yes. Yes they had. But sadly there was nothing that sounded truly identical to my issue so I gave up on finding answers (that's the other reason why I'm writing this now).