Re: origin client preventing shutdown win 10

★★★ Apprentice

Yep, we didn't forget. Hope will be fixed ASAP

Message 121 of 184 (1,607 Views)

[ Edited ]
★★ Novice

Perhaps you could stop "actively looking at the issue"

And start escalating the ticket that you left for an entire year.

Your app prevents thousands of users from shutting windows down... !!!! How serious an issue do you want!

When I need to reboot into Linux to do development,  I need to hard reset which can cause premature drive failure... Your responsible for this. Your software damages peoples hardware and you've left the issue for a year claiming *work arounds* are a "solution"

I'm constantly befuddled as a Dev myself what garbage you guys tell the general public. Its ludicrous. If anyone tried to get away with these excuses in a private company/consultancy to a client  they wouldn't be around long.

Message 122 of 184 (1,457 Views)

★★★ Newbie

Hi,

I had the same issue, fixed it by creating a script at windows shutdown:

- run gpedit.msc

- go to User Configuration\Windows Settings\Scripts (logon/logoff)

- open logoff

- add a script with: taskkill /f /im Origin.exe /t

At windows shutdown, you will still have the message of Ori-suck-gin blocking the process, but in few seconds (2~3 on my side), the program will be killed and windows will close as if EA devs were good ones.

If you can't access the group policy editor (gpedit), look up on the internet, there are plenty of tutorials to so with windows 8/10 home edition.

Message 123 of 184 (1,439 Views)

[ Edited ]
★★ Novice

@EA_Tom

Hi Tom

It's very hard to understand the current state of the issue Standard smile (having 12 pages).

I want to explane my experience with the same memory error on windows 10 shutdonw/restart:
I have ASUS Xonar card & Origin memory access error, but initially I got the same memory error on Skype closing (Origin was not started).