Re: [Mac] Origin - Connection and Library Issues

by amyscrackden

Original Post

★★★ Newbie

Downloaded Legacy AND the origin app that the website tells you to download. Was then able to download, update and play Sims 4 w/ all expansion packs in Origin Legacy.

Message 71 of 198 (1,705 Views)

★★★ Novice
I'm not good at things like this. Is this the same problem that Helper won't accept my password to install? I just want to play the Sims that I just bought expansions for I don't know how to do all this technical computer stuff.
Message 72 of 198 (1,703 Views)

[ Edited ]
★★★★ Novice

@hvisegvsdkhfgWhen I click on the Sims in Origin the icon appears in the tray and starts to bounce like it is going to load and the origin window goes away but then after a second or two the icon goes away and the origin window comes back up and nothing else. I dont get any error messages or anything else it just doesnt launch. I have already tried all those hints as well as uninstalling and reinstalling the game and origin. But nothing seems to work. The game played fine and then I shut it down to do some other things and when I tried to launch it again it wouldnt work. This was over a week a go. When I contacted EA support I told them Origin connects but the game wont launch and they said it was an issue a lot of Macs were having and all I can do is wait. But it seems like the others are having a different issue than me as you stated so I'm really frustrated at this point.

Message 73 of 198 (1,693 Views)

@taxdollars  The helper tool issue is different.  When you're asked for permission to install it, make sure you're using the password for your computer, not for Origin, and that you're using an admin account on your computer (or else you won't be able to grant permission).

If you still can't install it, please see the first post in this thread:

https://answers.ea.com/t5/Origin-Client-Web-Technical/Mac-Permission-to-install-Helper-Tool-error-20...