Mass Effect 3: Crashes at Startup - Help?

by Tokkiqu

Original Post

Accepted Solution

Mass Effect 3: Crashes at Startup - Help?

★★★ Newbie

So I've been playing mass effect 3 for around 2 months without any problems. I'd not been on my laptop for a few days and went to play. Origin opened, started the game and then after the initial start up screen it crashed. Me and another player have been trying to fix it for days. I've tried playing in compatibility mode; updating EVERY driver(very boring);reinstalling mass effect; reinstalling origin; restarting my laptop and whatever else we could find but nothings worked. Theres been no software updates for my laptop, don't have a virus, im using the same system as someone else who's is working fine so I don't know what the problem is but i really want to play. Anyone know anything that could help?

Thanks,

Emma

Message 1 of 8 (760 Views)

Accepted Solution

Re: Mass Effect 3: Crashes at Startup - Help?

[ Edited ]

@Tokkiqu

Yes that is perfect.

It will take some time to read it, so I will answer you tomorrow regarding the DxDiag.

In the meantime, try this:

- Disable cloud save for ME3 in Origin. (In Origin > Game library > right click ME3 > Game properties > Cloud saves > untick the "Enable Origin In Game for Mass Effect 3" checkbox > Save.

- Close Origin.

- Move (not copy, move) the "Save" folder under "Documents\BioWare\Mass Effect 3" out of the "Mass Effect 3" folder again. > Test.

If that don't helps, 

- Close Origin. (right click at the Task Bar icon > Exit)

- Go here and download the two DLLs.

- Navigate to ">drive<:\Program Files (x86)\Origin Games\Mass Effect 3\Binaries\Win32\Core" and rename the "awc.dll" and the "EACore.dll" to "old_awc.dll" and "Old_EACore.dll"

- Move the new "awc.dll" and "EACore.dll" files from the place you saved them into the directory listed above.

- Test the Game.

If that still don't helps, run the Windows System File Checker Sfc /scannnow and post the concluding message.