Re: Game (ME3) won't launch, Origin screen "refreshes" and nothing hap

by DoctorDAM

Original Post

★★★ Guide

@thosta100 wrote:

Doing some digging I see people had this issue due to merging of accounts. My copies of Mass Effect were added to this account through a merging with one of my old accounts. 

See related error: https://answers.ea.com/t5/Mass-Effect-3/PC-Mass-Effect-3-Crash-Right-After-Launch/m-p/9058229/highli...

@thosta100 

I was hesitant to link this to your initial response (and to the OP) since I have no experience with the Steam issues (other than seeing the topics here).  But yeah, this is what I would have asked about.  So, I suggest that whatever other advice you follow here, you simultaneously pursue this "merge" issue aspect directly with the ea help directly.  Cite that linked thread, and stress the merge part and ask that they remove and re-grant you the game (and make sure you test while they are still on).

Message 11 of 45 (2,167 Views)

★★★★ Novice
@DoctorDAM In my case I don't have a Steam version. Its just Origin, shoulda been clearer on that point.
Message 12 of 45 (2,157 Views)

@thosta100 

Letting your account get checked can't hurt.

The link to EA's Support is here. If you are not from the US change the country in the top right corner.

Choose "Contact us" (Top Bar) and then Choose "Origin" from the list.

Choose PC > Choose "Manage my Account"

There are however many "ATKEX_cmd.exe" errors in your DxDiag.

To verify if this errors are related, start the game, wait a few minutes and then look at that "C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\WER\Temp" folder.

Check if the timestamp of one of the "WERxxxx.tmp.mdmp" files matches the time you tried to launch ME3.

If yes load this mini dump file up like the DxDiag. (It might be necessary to change the file extension to  *.txt or, if the file is to large to upload it at a free file hosting service.)

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++